University of Adelaide

University Colleges and Facilities
(Adelaide, South Australia - SA, Australia)

The University of Adelaide has five campuses, each one specialising in a specific set of programmes.

North Terrace

The university's main campus is the North Terrace campus. It is the umbrella campus, in that it offers components of all the programmes.

Roseworthy College

Up north is The University of Adelaide's Roseworthy College, which is devoted for programmes involving agricultural research. The campus boasts 16 square kilometres of farmland and a state-of-the-art centre for agricultural research. Important organisations such as the Murray TAFE and South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI) are associated with the Roseworthy campus.

Waite Campus

Like Roseworthy College, the university's Waite campus also focuses on agricultural sciences, biotechnology, and plant breeding. The 1.74 square kilometres of property is located in the south-eastern foothills of Adelaide in Urrbrae. The land was originally owned by Peter Waite, a pastoralist, until he decided to donate it to the government in 1924 for the establishment of an agricultural research institute. The government later turned the institute into a full-fledged University of Adelaide campus.

Waite is home to a number of important agricultural organisations such as SARDI, the Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics (ACPFG), and the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). Waite is also home to the university's School of Agriculture, Food and Wine. The campus also offers components of one of the university's newer offerings -- the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences.

Research Park

The University of Adelaide Research Park is strategically located in Thebarton. It is now home to the university's Office of Industry Liaison. The campus specialises in networking with commercial partners, such as companies that hold businesses in materials engineering, environmental services, biotechnology, information technology, laser/optics technology, industrial design, engineering services, health products, telecommunications, radar systems, and petroleum services. The Research Park also offers the Graduate Entrepreneurial Program, which gives the university's graduates the opportunity and support the need to start small businesses.

National Wine Centre

The National Wine Centre specialises in training students on winemaking and the wine industry. The centre is know for its world-class wine education programs both for undergraduates and postgraduates. This University of Adelaide campus offers a all-inclusive range wine appreciation courses and has, among many other facilities, an exhibition gallery and a retail store for wine sampling and purchasing.

Adelaide University

I'm looking for: